द्वादश आदित्याः (12 Suns)

October 17, 2014

It is very common in Sanskrit to represent a group of related things by means of a Shloka for easy remembrance. One such famous Shloka is the below one which salutes the 9 Grahas (Planets).

नमः सूर्याय सोमाय मङ्गलाय बुधाय च |
गुरुशुक्रशनिभ्यश्च राहवे केतवे नमः ||

In my last blog, I wrote about 12 names of Sun and the Surya Namaskara Mantras based on each of them. These 12 names of Sun are:

द्वादश आदित्याः

1. मित्रः
2. रविः
3. सूर्यः
4. भानुः
5. खगः
6. पूषा
7. हिरण्यगर्भः
8. मरीचिः
9. आदित्यः
10. सविता
11. अर्कः
12. भास्करः

Here is an attempt by me to consolidate these 12 names of Sun in the form of Shlokas. Since I know only Anushtup Chandas (meter), I am limited by 32 letters in each Shloka and hence had to resort to two Shlokas to cover all the names.

मित्राय रविसूर्याभ्यां भानवेऽपि खगाय च|
पूष्णे हिरण्यगर्भाय सर्वेभ्योऽपि नमो नमः || 1 ||

पूजयामि मरीचिञ्च आदित्यञ्च भजाम्यहम् |
अर्चयामि सवित्रर्कौ सेवयामि च भास्करम् || 2 ||

The above two Shlokas basically salute the Sun and offer worship to the Sun taking each of his 12 names in the order mentioned above.

संस्कृतं न जानामि न जानामि पाणिनिम्।
पदार्थमपि न जानामि क्षमस्व वागीश्वरि॥